Bikes are Back

Xtracycle making new friends.

The temperatures are now regularly above freezing, and people are riding bicycles again. I’m passing more people while I’m out on the bike lanes, and there are usually two or three parked by larger shops, like this pair of trusty steeds outside the village supermarket.

It even seems that there are slightly more than last year, which may be a delayed effect of high oil prices or the recession, or possibly it’s my perception after having the place pretty well to myself for so long.  With so many people cycling in this cold weather and with so little infrastructure, it makes me wonder how many more people would be using bikes if Ostfildern invested a bit more in improving subjective safety.

The sport bikes are still hibernating. I’ll let you know when I see the first lycra of the season…

