So, back to regular updates about our attempts to live a greener-than-thou hippy lifestyle you come to read about.

When I checked the Very Smallholding I found a thoughtful citizen had donated to The Great Pile of Junk I still haven’t managed to work myself up to hauling to the rubbish tip. We are now better off by one broken clothes dryer and an office chair that doesn’t go up or down.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t want this to become a regular event, so I hid moved the pile back into the garden, trimmed the hedge, and generally tidied the area up a bit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The garden seems to have done reasonably well while we were off contributing to climate change. Actually, rather too well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The vegetable beds have gone feral and there are courgettes in there big enough to club trespassers with, not to mention pumpkins the size of small boulders. The grass has become a hayfield and I can’t even get down to the bottom of the garden as the path is overgrown again. Fortunately Disgruntled had similar problems this year, so I’m not alone.

The cherry tree isn’t looking so happy though. If you look very carefully you can see where two large branches fell on the roof of our ancient not-a-toilet to get some attention.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now I’ve got to figure out how to cut those logs without them falling on top of me. Then I’ll need to drag them to some point where they won’t rot and I won’t fall over them every couple of days.

Well, at least I’ll have some firewood. And I won’t be bored.

