View from the back of the pack...

Last week was a bit quiet as expected, because I’ve been off on a bike tour in the Black Forest: a large, mountainous, not remotely black area of forest close to our home. It’s probably obvious from this blog that I’m not really a distance cyclist so the projected 80km a day for four days was going to be a challenge, but the chance to get out and ride for several guilt-free hours a day was not to be missed. I also wanted to see if I was able to make it.

Remarkably I did, although there were some tough times especially on day three when I managed to misread a map and land in a valley that it took the best part of three hours to climb out of again, but my legs didn’t give up on me, and neither did the newly fitted Xtracycle. The only casualty was my aged dome tent which hasn’t done well being stored in its little bag, and scored an average of two holes per night. We ended up cutting patches out of the storage bag to keep it waterproof.

More ‘what I did on my holidays’ entries to follow…

