Camp in the Neckar Valley

Camp in the Neckar Valley

It’s getting colder: people look startled when they see a cyclist. Time to think about summer and plan some bike touring. Last year a group of us went south from here along the Neckar valley, through Tübingen and Horb to Rottweil and back north via Alpirsbach and Freudenstadt, across the territory of “Three men on a Bimmel”, which was a great experience for all except my ancient tent which averaged one hole per night and has now been retired as a play house for my three boys. This year we’re considering a four day excursion to the north, through Stuttgart and Heilbronn and through the Odenwald hills to the Rhine at Mannheim, which I think would probably take all four days. The route takes us through some dramatic scenery, but it would include urban riding, so I’m not too sure about this. I’m more for revisiting the south, or possibly heading east to Ulm, but as this latter idea will involve climbing over the Rhine/Danube watershed I’m not sure it will be that popular.
Someone suggested we raise money as we go. This seems a better idea than just going off for a ride but I’ve very little experience of this sort of thing: does anyone have any suggestions how we would organise this, get sponsors, etc? I guess we’d ask people to sponsor us by the kilometre, although sponsorship by vertical metres climbed could be lucrative be interesting, and someone suggested we should photograph the village name signs and ask people to sponsor us a euro per sign. I’m not sure I fancy stopping at every village though.
Of course this is assuming we can organise it around the trip to Japan we’ll need to make in August, or that I can get or borrow a new tent.

