Gritty stuff.

Gritty stuff.

In this region householders are responsible for  keeping the pavement (sidewalk) clean and snow-free in front of their house. It’s theoretically illegal to use salt for environmental reasons: you can have 11000 cars driving through the village causing damage, pollution, illness and death, but just don’t put salt on the pavements. Anyway, as part of this policy there are great bins of grit in various places around the village and a couple of days ago we had a cold snap and everything was slippy, so the Xtra and I went and got a load of grit to spread liberally.
Just before we got to the grit bins, I discovered that the back light wasn’t working. This is not something you want to find out in the pre-dawn on a misty road when you’re in a hurry. I thought for a minute. The light wasn’t quite dead, and I was on a residential road with minimal slow traffic. I also had the twin front lights on which made a kind of halo in the mist, making me pretty visible from front and behind. I could get off and try and navigate the icy pavements with a heavy bike, or I could go for denial, just get the grit and cycle back. In the end I went for denial: it seems to work for the motor industry.

I did get off and walk on the main road. As I was walking I was passed by a big orange snowplough, hard at work clearing the roads. It was spreading salt.

I’ve taken the light apart and can’t find an obvious reason for the problem. I’m assuming it’s the batteries.

