Family transport step 1.

Family transport step 1.

The boys favourite Christmas present was this pair of swept handlebars with cork grips on the end which I mounted on the Xtracycle. It’s a good job as it was probably the biggest present they got (the box was over a metre high). As eagle eyed readers will have already noticed, this was on the Xtracycle before Christmas day, but I’ve always been a bit bad at dates and anyway I had to put it in when I had workshop time. It’s getting lots of comment, not least from three lads who paused their football game to shout “Geil” (“Cool!”) as we passed, which made Eldest Son very happy.

The bar was from Ebay, cut down by 60mm each side (because otherwise the boys would have been spreadeagled like a driver of an extreme Harley) I fitted it using a standard 120mm mountain bike aheadset stem: thanks to David Hembrow for advising that this could work without  a tandem-styled Stoker Bar. All the boys think this is the most awesome idea to hit transportation since… well, anything really, and every time I put a coat on a have a small shadow starts asking if I’m going somewhere by Xtracycle and if I’m open to passengers. Its a bit slower with a small person on the back, but who cares? it’s Daddy Time.

I also changed the front handlebar grips for a cork pair, just because the bike looked nice with matching grips. What’s happening to me? I think I’ve been reading Copenhagenize too long…

