Theres more where that came from...

There's more where that came from...

The tail end of the Quinten storm system is rolling past, and we’ve been getting 20-150mm of snow a night for the last three nights. In south Germany this sort of thing happens all the time, and the snowploughs were charging past by the time I was up and clearing the pavement (sidewalk) in front of our apartment. The road to the Kindergarten is a priority because it has the Kindergarten, fire station and village school on it, and before Middle Son was up it was business as usual, if a little soggy. Smaller roads won’t be cleared but the cars are compacting the snow nicely. I know many cyclists loathe compacted snow, but I’ve never had a problem with it. Perhaps this is because the Xtracycle is fitted with trail tyres, which date from when I was riding in the UK and where rural roads had so many branches, thorns and other crud on them that they were effectively a trail.  Maybe it’s just the right kind of snow It seems that even in Ostfildern, most cycle lanes will have been cleared as well, and the tractors, nordic walkers, and cross country skiers will have compacted the snow on the field roads so I’ll be able to ride pretty much as normal.

I’ve just had another offer of a car if we need it. I reckon I’m quicker on the Xtracycle today.

It’s still snowing.

