Er...

Er...

Well, there’s always one, isn’t there? And here’s ours, where the cycleway to the next town crosses a road at a 90 degree angle. The sign under the red ‘Give way/Yield’ triangle says “Cyclists Dismount”. Yeah right. I don’t know if you noticed, but this is a road. And last time I looked a bicycle was considered to be a road vehicle under German law.

Following this instruction would waste my time and put me in danger. The cycleway on the other side follows an access road into a sport centre, so instead of moving with the traffic and pulling off to the cycleway within a few seconds, I’d have to stop on the road to remount my bike, right where cars will be pulling in. I don’t think so.

It’s typical of Ostfildern that they have this silly sign instead of a proper crossing for bikes, but fortunately it’s the sole example I’ve found so far.

