Beautiful wfe asked me to drive her across town to see a friend last night. I hadn’t driven a car in months until we came to Japan, but I figured that we’d be okay: the roads are pretty empty when it isn’t a rush hour, we have low speed limits locally and the car is a small compact. Even better, it’s an automatic: what could possibly go wrong?

Well, for example, I could get in and discover that I left the lights on last time I used it so the battery is dead as a doornail and the car won’t start.

It turns out petrol prices aren’t the only thing you forget to check when you use a bike all the time.

If it was a manual I’d have tried push starting the thing, but how do you get a dead automatic car to start?*

*I appreciate that this marks me as a helpless twerp in car culture, but there we go.

