OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The real practical exam is over, thank goodness: I can handle a lot of things, like making presentations to hundreds of people, and working in an emergency room, but ask me to do an exam and I seem to go to pieces. I don’t know why, but there it is.

The worst bit of today (apart from being faced with the mess I’d made yesterday) was the oral exam. I don’t do oral exams, as my teacher discovered. I managed to remember my name, but even stupidly simple questions were a bit too much for my stressed brain. Still, we muddled through.

In the end the result wasn’t quite as bad as I’d feared. I managed to hide most of my mistakes (it’s amazing what you can cover up with glue and sawdust) and I managed to finishe the whole piece, which not everyone did, and it even worked, by which I mean I could open the drawer and close it again, although I’m not telling how much fiddling about it took to get that to happen. It isn’t perfect, and I’m not sure I’ll bother bringing it home, but at least it isn’t instant firewood which was the most likely outcome after yesterdays comedy of errors.

For obvious reasons I can’t take any pictures of the finished result, but above is the state of my workbench after I finished the last mad dash to hand the box in by 1100.

Theory exam tomorrow.

