Due to some monumentally bad planning on my part, I managed to have four appointments in our local big town on different days last week. The town in question is only a bit over five kilometres away, which comes in at a mere 3.2 miles, but before you serious transport cycling types scoff, it is also almost 200m lower, or a rather more respectable 620 feet, most of which is crammed in a relatively short part of the ride.

The quickest way (down) is the busy, but straight main road.

Nicehill_03

 but if I have the time, it is far more pleasant to use the old road…

Nicehill_04

…which meanders without any urgency through the vineyards…

Nicehill_05

…especially as this route is closed to motorised traffic, so I can stop and take pictures.

Nicehill_06

This was another one of those mornings when I was reminded there are far worse places to live and ride a bike.

You really aren’t supposed to have this much fun on the way to an appointment, especially when the reason was to pick up my results for my carpentry apprenticeship…