Or: how to make a simple job more complicated.

1: Leave apartment to deliver letter, notice plastic ready for recycling. Take it downstairs.

2: Dither in hallway before deciding that as I’m using the Bakfiets, and I’ll be going through the garage, I’ll drop the plastic in the Bakfiets, take the Bakfiets out of the garage,  close the garage door, and transfer the plastic to the recycling bin, thus saving myself a trip of ooh, about ten metres.

3: Open garage door.

4: Drop the plastic in the Bakfiets, take the Bakfiets out of the garage,  close the garage door, ride off.

5: Reach top of hill. A couple of dog walkers look curiously into the Bakfiets. Realise why.

6: Ride 200m back down hill.

7: Transfer the plastic to the recycling bin.

8: Ride 200m back up hill.

At least I’d remembered to bring the letter. I guess I’ll go and cross out ‘multitasking’ as one of my skills on my CV…

