Down in the veg beds, something stirs…

Beans, pumpkins, and some seeds that I couldn’t identify but decided I’d bury and see what happened.

newplants

According to the instructions on the package, I’m sowing the beans at the correct time. This is not something I can explain to the other gardeners though: no matter what I say the response is much tutting, shaking of heads, and gleeful comments of how I’m far too late, or too early, and they wouldn’t have done it like that, and the seed beds are the wrong shape, and…

mysteryleaf

After three years of scything away at the brambles, the garden is sprouting trees now they can see sunlight, including this specimen that is rapidly growing near the water tap which I can’t identify*. I don’t want to allow space to some invasive species but I’m loathe to just cut it down. Can some friendly botanist identify the species from this rather blurry picture?

*My tree recognition, I’m ashamed to say, is limited to species considered potential furniture…