Woodcarving lessons continue, and for the last few days I’ve been making a bowl from pear wood. Now the only bits of my fingers that don’t ache are the blisters, so this post will be mainly pictures:

Stage one was making the inside of the bowl, which also involved working out what shape I wanted it to be. Here’s the basic shape rough carved:

Carved bowl 002

Then finished using finer chisels and then sanding to get most of the mistakes, imperfections out:

Carved bowl 003

My teacher, taking the subtle approach to rough forming the outside of the bowl:

Carved bowl 004

…which left us with something vaguely reminiscent of the Millenium Falcon.

Carved bowl 005

Further progress reports to follow as soon as my arms and brain are working together well enough to type again. And if you’re wondering what I’m doing this for, it does have a connection to the work I’ll be doing from September…