Good morning and a happy 2016. I didn’t have a long night to see in the new year; my excuse for this is that I’m working this morning feeding the animals at the farm, but to be honest I didn’t have to take that shift: I just don’t like parties, especially when they dribble into the night.

Anyway, last week it occurred to me that I’ve never really come up with some serious resolutions on the new year, apart from a half-hearted goal to ride a century which I’ve still not managed. This is because I know I won’t keep them very well, for example: I won’t ‘get organised’ no matter how many resolutions I make in that direction, so that’s not worth the time writing it on the list. If I was organised enough to make a list, that is.

On the other hand, I’ve always wanted to make more stuff myself, and now I have access to all kinds of tools at work, so I decided that this year I could try to make all the presents and cards I give to friends and family for birthdays, anniversaries, and Christmas.

That shouldn’t be too hard, should it? I spend most of the day with the children at the farm, making interesting things like lino prints, bird boxes, or candles, so there’s all kinds of possibilities there, and if I’m stuck for ideas I can still make something out of wood. Probably. It will help me be creative, and I’ll be able to do a lot of the making with my children. What could possibly go wrong with this plan?

People who know me will see the obvious problem: I’ll have to remember people’s birthdays. I frequently forget my own birthday. and last year I only realised it was our wedding anniversary the day after and that was because my Beautiful and (usually) Very Organised Wife was apologising for having forgotten it herself.

This project means getting organised, at least slightly, and staying organised, because I can’t get away with remembering one friends’ birthday in January and forgetting their spouse in July.

Still, it seems a good place to start. And writing about it here will hopefully make sure I stick to it.

Anyone who wants to join in is welcome to drop me a line. I promise not to sell your information to dodgy websites: I’ll be too busy trying not to lose it…